English Language Visa Requirements (IELTS) EXPLAINED – 2021

English Language Visa Requirements (IELTS) EXPLAINED – 2021

Australia has, and always will be a very attractive country for many foreigners interested in relocating permanently. Not only is it one of the most beautiful countries in the world, but the beauty is supported by a strong economic landscape. Gaining permanent residency in Australia allows you to work, study and live permanently in this incredible country.

As English is the primary language spoken in Australia, it is an important aspect of the visa application process and there is a minimum standard that needs to be met.

IELTS is a great way to meet the language requirement and is the preferred test for immigration to Australia. It is widely accepted and is integrated into the point-based immigration system.

Skilled Visa Pathways to Permanent Residency In Australia

There are three primary skilled visa pathways to obtain permanent residency in Australia. Employer sponsored, General Skilled Migration and Skill Select. For skilled visas there is a minimum points requirement of 65 to meet the eligibility criteria. Most skilled visas will require higher points in order to be considered for the visa (75) depending on how competitive they are.

If you are looking at gaining Permanent Residency through the General Skilled Migration pathways, there are a few main visa subclasses, all of which are points based.

  • Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)

Permanent visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government.

  • Skilled Nomination Visa (Subclass 190)

A permanent visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government.

An important aspect in accumulating sufficient points to meet the minimum points requirements (65) is the english language component.

  • Skilled Regional visa (Subclass 489)

For skilled workers who want to live and work in regional Australia. If you are granted this visa, you might be eligible to apply for the Skilled Regional (Permanent) visa (subclass 887)

  • Skilled Work Regional Visa (Subclass 491)

A visa for skilled people nominated by a state or territory government to live and work in regional Australia. You could have the possibility to apply for a permanent Subclass 191 Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa after living and working in a regional area for at least 3 years.

  • Graduate Temporary Visa (Subclass 485)

The Graduate Temporary visa is a work visa which can be applied for by international students who have completed a qualification taking 2 years of study in Australia. You would need to plan ahead as there are a number of different options for transitioning from your 485 visa to permanent residency.

IELTS is one of the critical components in the system. While a minimum score of 6 in each area (Speaking, Listening, Reading, and Writing ) is required, a higher score will gain you more points.

There are three bands of IELTS scores (Competent, Proficient and Superior) which correspond to a number of points allocated.

Point Allocation Table for IELTS Scores

Competent (Score of 6 or more)0
Proficient (Score of 7 or more)10
Superior (Score 8 or more)20
IELTS results are usually valid for 2 years. Skilled Migration applications = 3 years validity.

It is important to note that there are certain occupations in Australia that require minimum IELTS scores. For example, a minimum of 6.0 is required for an engineer wheres as a minimum of 7.0 is required for a nurse.

The skilled for pathways to Australia can be very competitive and complex, it is important that you have the necessary guidance when pursuing this journey. Our team of highly experienced Migration Professionals would be more than happy to assist you with your visa application so please feel free to GET IN TOUCH

Ready to get started? Contact First Class Migration today to begin your visa application process with the support of experts who truly care about your future in Australia.